TRAVELERS OPINIONS / OPINIONES DE VIAJEROS

TRAVELERS OPINION /OPINIONES DE VIAJEROS

Thirty years later and still in love with Posada Roger by  tokyohos from  Canada, Nov 21, 2010

After 30 years, we once again visited Posada Roger and fell in love with it all over again. While purusing hotels in P.V. we were pleasantly surprised to see that Roger’s was still up and running and it peaked our curiousity enough to go back. In point of fact, the hotel managed to keep all of its charm and upgrade its facitity. Another floor has been added since we last visited, but we were actually assigned next door to the room that we had so long ago. No, the staff didn’t remember us (!), but they were very hospitable and helpful. This is a budget hotel (we paid approx. $45.00-$50.00 a night for 2 people) with rooms on the smallish side, but there is air con and also a ceiling fan in each room, which are important to my needs. Another plus is free Wi Fi internet. The courtyard is abundant and overflowing with lovely flowers(see photos). An outdoor pool has been added to the second floor with some addittional sunning and sitting areas. The location is unbeatable. We strolled the beach and ate at great restaurants close to the hotel. If you walk by the office, there is a restaurant connect to the hotel called ‘Toucan’. It is fantastic for breakfast. I like a few cups of coffe in the morning to get me going and they will keep refilling your coffee all for the same price of one cup (less than $2.00). Another close by restaurant that we thought fantastic for dinner was ‘Fajita Republic’. The setting is lovely and the food even better. I ordered the veggie faijatas (104 pesos) one night and the next night had the fish faijtas (118 pesos). Fantastic. Read the other articles by previous travellers. That rooster is still crowing so best to avoid that side of the building when getting a room. We will return and hopefully it won’t be another 30 years!

http://bit.ly/gkkL5o

“Old world charmby  Mike Anderson from Bainbridge Island, Washington, Nov 20, 2010

Great location. Near the beach and tons of great restaurants. The hotel courtyard with it’s fountain is a great place to relax and meet people from all over the world. The people are so helpful and friendly. My wife got the flu before we came home and Martha, who has a little jewelry store at the hotel, called her doctor who made a house call on a Friday night!! Got her all fixed up for the trip home. We feel like family every time we go there. Never feel like that at a big resort. Thank you Sonia and Dario, and Juan Carlos and Eddy. You help make our vacation the best.

http://bit.ly/gPuGWi

“Changes” by Senorapat Broomfield, Colorado, Oct 20, 2010

I have been staying at Posada Roger or one of their apartments for about twice a year for 20 years. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else. The hotel is close to Playa del Muertos, in a very safe neighborhood, and has a very relaxing atmosphere. Although Puerto Vallarta has changed and grown in so many ways, the ambience of Posada Roger has remained the same. In the past 10 years under the watchful eyes of Sonia and Dario some upgrades have been taking place. New lounge chairs at poolside, new curtains and bedspreads, a lovely fountain int he patio, and new bathrooms in all the rooms. are only a few of the ongoing upgrades to make the hotel your home away from home, The hotel is located on the south side of the river in Zona Romantica and is very convenient to a wonderful array of restaurants, botiques, coffee houses and English bookstores. The Malecon, which is the heart of Puerto Vallarta, is just a five-minute walk away. The local buses will take you all over the city and to wonderful places such as Mismaloya to the south and Buscerias and beyond to the north. The helpful staff can assist you on which bus goes where. One of the fantastic features that has been added is a community kitchen on the upper level of the hotel. It enables families to prepare their own meals and the dining area overlooks the mountains. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel at no extra charge. Staying at Posada Roger will make yu feel part of the family and the community.

http://bit.ly/gkkL5o

“Wonderful Stay”, by Stephanie from Canada, written 7 months ago.

In July/August 2009 I stayed at Posada Roger for 10 days. I have stayed at resorts near the port a few times but preferred this old town location.
It is just far enough from the Malecon yet close to the beach, pier, all kinds of food, entertainment and shopping. The room was great for the rate and there were no unexpected costs. The sitting areas on the rooftop and courtyard are inviting. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

“Muy Limpio”, por omystyco de mexico, escrito hace 1 año.

Un sitio muy limpio. Y buena actitud de los encargados del lugar.

“Perfect location, great visit” by Dave Zilke from Michigan, USA, Written 3 years ago.

I spent 5 1/2 weeks in Jan into Feb of 06, couldn’t have been happier, nice, comfortable room, nice people, friendly helpful staff, a cross section of friendly visitors from all over. Step out the foyer and be in real, today vacation Mexico. Short walk to the beach past friendly shops to where the action is. Close to real shops where tourists AND locals can be seen. Not the sanitized big buck mega resorts, see real people enjoyig PV — doesn’t get much better than that.

“Saludos” por Sra. Rodriguez de mexico, escrito hace 1 año.

Yo pase mi luna de miel ahí, hace ya casi 3 años, y está perfecto, el servicio está muy bien, su gente muy amable, pero lo mejor fue el restaurant, me quedé con ganas de volver a ir.

“Bill Fosty / Hue Vu”, by Fosty Bill / Vu Hue from Canada
Written 1 year agoWe stayed at this hotel Dec/Jan 2000/2001 and again Dec / Jan 2005 / 2006. We prefer old town as this area is referred to.We are close to the beach, the pier , bus transportation and the street of restaurants as Basilio Badillo is know for. We like the culture, the food , we felt safe in this area. People were very friendly.

“De maravilla”, por Rafael gallardo Lomwlí de México, escrito hace 2 años.

Cada que vamos a Vallarta nos hospedamos en esta posada y nos parece muy apropiada en ubicacion y precio, ademas del ambiente rustico que se respira, lo cual hece de nuestra estancia la mas agradable.
The best by actual test!!! by Cliff Anderson from Mexico, Written 2 years ago.
We have been coming to Posada Roger for one week every three months for almost nine years and find it the best in every aspect from location to friendly staff…They do everthing to try and make your stay pleasant…Try it, you’ll like it…Fun in the sun for everyone!!!      Cliff from Tepic.

Súper!, por gab de mexico, escrito hace 2 años.

Este hotel es de lo mas sencillo pero a su vez de lo mas económico y agradable, lo recomiendo ampliamente, ya que lo que uno quiere es gastar lo menos para poder pasear mas con la familia y lo mejor de todo, es que las habitaciones tienen clima y TV con cable…
“Know what you are looking for” by R hamshaw from Canada, written 2 years ago.
If you want to stay at the Holiday Inn go there. If you want something a little more akin to a real spanish/mexican experience, stay here. Roof top pool is fantastic!

“Sencilla y practica” por Jorge Alonzo Apodaca de méxico, escrito hace 2 años.

Cuando se viaja de mochilazo e informal y sin lujos, no hay como llegar a esta posada, calidez en el trato y buena refrigeraciòn ademas de una excelente ubicaciòn.
“Great Hotel&Location” by John written 4 years ago.
Upon arriving I asked the desk clerk to put me far away from the dueling roasters that I read about on this web site…she laughed and said don’t worry we killed the roasters! I guess she wasn’t kidding because I never heard them or any other noice even once. I stayed here in Oct. 2005 I thought I would just try it for a few nights. The room I got had 4 beds in it. 2 beds were firm and the other 2 beds were a bit softer. It was kept very clean and had a ceiling fan and air conditioner that worked great. The shower was good but like many Mexico toilets you have to flush twice. They have a very nice roof top pool and tons of plants of all kinds. The location is just 2 1/2 blocks from the beach and near everything. There is a restaurant down stairs called Freddy Tucans that has a great breakfast menu and most of the breakfast are under 4 bucks. I had the Vallarta pancakes with fresh fruit with whip cream. Wow! For the price of $37.00 per night you can’t go wrong. The girls at the front desk are all great! also, it is just 1 1/2 blocks from bar Paco. I will stay here again next time even longer. Tell Rosie hello for me. John Taylor S.D. Ca.

Perfecto!!!, por Luis Herrera de México, escrito hace 2 años.

La verdad en lo personal me parece un hotel que cumple con todas las espectativas de descanso me lo recomendaron y yo hago lo mismo lo recomiendo perfectamente…es un hotel pequeño pero que te hace sentir como en casa, gracias a su personal que nos trataron de maravilla…pronto regresaremos!!!

“Chris beckemyer” by chris from washington, USA, written 3 years ago.

Stayed at posada roger years ago. so glad to know its still there and getting great reviews. i loved the roof top for simply sitting after dinner and watching the world go by. the breakfast of fresh fruit, beans/tortillas and coffee at tucan was wonderful and well priced. the location is just about the best in pv, walking distance to everything wonderful the city has to offer. and walking at night never felt even a little bit dangerous. thankfully, big martian city hotels and the cruise ship dock are far, far way. in pv, south of the river is the ONLY way to go.

“Un sitio agradable”, por Darío de México D. F. escrito hace 3 años

Me gusto, me parece un sitio agradable, limpio, económico muy buen lugar de descanso. El personal es muy amable.

“Good price and service,” by Claudia and Abel Lerma from Canada, written 3 years ago.

We stayed at Posada Roger 4 great nights, the place is clean, have good service and location is very convenient (beach is 2.5 blocks away). In the area you can find nice places to eat, have a great coffee, laundry service, etc. Plus Posada Roger provides free and safe parking, security deposit box (free) and in general the environment is friendly and SAFE

Me encantó la ubicación!

LOVEROFPV  / Minneapolis, Minnesota / 26 ene 2009

El personal era muy amable y servicial. Las habitaciones son muy básicas, muy limpio.
Este es un hotel económico muy bonito 2 o 3 estrellas y recomendaría este hotel para cualquiera que busque un hotel económico mejor en la Zona Romántica zona.  El precio es muy razonable.

Loved it, will continue to stay there when in Puerto Vallarta

panzerisok  / Broomfield, Colorado / 7 abr 2008.

We have traveled to Puerto Vallarta on many occasions and in the past stayed mostly in the resort areas that offered all inclusive. We loved it at the Posada Roger, the rooms were clean and everyone was helpful. There are so many wonderful places to eat in the area and the beach is nearby. It was the most relaxing time I have experience in Puerto Valarta. Thanks to everyone at the Posada Roger for making our stay memorable.

Great location

marlySF   / SF East Bay /16 dic 2009

The hotel is in an excellent location, near I. Vallarta and on B. Badillo. In the middle of everything. If people want to visit “real Vallarta,” you can’t do better than this location.

The staff is wonderful. Knowledgable, helpful and friendly. Even people who called me from the States commented on how efficient and friendly they were, at the desk.

Fredy’s Tucan restaurant is off the courtyard. Excellent breakfast food. I only had one breakfast there (chilaquiles verde) but could have eaten there every morning, it was so good. It’s also packed. Very popular.

I love this Old Town Classic

Un miembro de TripAdvisor / Hollywood, CA / 1 jun 2004

I’ve stayed here several times and I love it.

I’m always surprised at how many “Gringos” want Puerto Vallarta to be an extension of the United States! Well, not this Gringo! People, it’s Mexico, duh. I go there for the laid-back, earthy, and plebian charm. I work in the corporate-white collar environment. I need to get away from the life of luxury a couple times a year.

Mexicans are generally only rude to you if you are rude to them. (I’ve learned the golden rule after years of travel to this country). The culture is different. We American’s tend to be too pushy and impatient. If you relax, and leave your prissy, fussy and arrogant big-city attitude at home – they are warm and friendly. They only get paid like 75 cents an hour to take your bologne anyway. Remember this.

The food is great, the place is clean and it’s CHEAP, CHEAP, CHEAP. This way – you can spend the rest of your money on cerveza and sightseeing. I hate wasting money on a 4 or 5 star hotel. I only go there to relax and party.

“All Are Welcome”

SimonDeLao / San Salvador, El Salvador / 13 jun 2009l.

I have been coming to the Posada Roger for years. I still recommend the place – it’s laid back and friendly. I love my Posada Roger.

Quiet and inexpensive

Escena / Minneapolis / 3 feb 2009

I’ve stayed at Posada de Roger several times and will keep going back. The staff is friendly and helpful (also very forgiving of my bad Spanish and excellent in conversing in English).

They advertise “All People Welcome” and they mean it.The attached restaurant, Freddy’s Tucan, offers an excellent breakfast and the staff are teriffic!

It is a short 5 minute walk from the beach and is central to the other shopping activities and the plaza.

Great Location, Nice staff

HappiTravelerChicago / Chicago / 31 dic 2008

Stayed over Christmas. It is certainly a great location in Zona Romantica, south of downtown. The rooms are situated around a lovely courtyard with many tropical flowers and plants. Very nice pool. Lots of flowers around the pool.

Principalmente positiva

transientone  / Nelson, NZ / 21 dic 2008

Lo que nos gustó fue la piscina son y la terraza de sol con su fondo hilldrop. Muy agradable! El restaurante contiguo era en efecto muy bueno pero quizás tangas que hacer cola en las mañanas para el excelente desayuno que tienen. ¡Vale la pena la espera, creedme.

El hotel está ubicado en la zona romántica que es mucho mejor que la zona por el norte con los hoteles grandes y a una calle muy transitada. La zona romántica es como el México antiguo donde vive la gente pero con una variedad, que estaba bien de restaurantes y bares, alguno dirigido por Emigrantes de los Estados Unidos y Canadá. Las calles adoquinadas tienen un cierto encanto.

También hay una zona cerca de recepción donde te puedes sentar, con una pequeña fuente. No está soleado allí muy a menudo que puede ser un respiro de la terraza del tejado en la tarde.

Posada Rogers’ un tesoro real.

rator  / canada / 9 mar 2008.

Me pasé 4 noches en el Roger un par de semanas atrás y tuve una estancia estupenda… muy bien ubicado en el casco viejo, bueno, es barato desayuno en su restaurante adjunto (prueba el enorme plato de fruta), limpio, tranquilo y pequeña. Si alguna vez vuelvo a Puerto Vallarta, que me volveré a reservar mi estancia general allí!

Tened en cuenta, esto es un hotel mexicano, no es un todo incluido, estilo complejo. Es una fantástica manera de conseguir una sensación para el país y la gente.

Good budget hotel in Puerto Vallarta

The_Made_Guy / Perth, Australia / 17 may 2008

I stayed at this posada for five nights in March-April 2008, and was fortunate enough to receive a discounted rate despite staying during the Easter week holiday period. Dario who works behind the counter at Posada Roger is a good guy, really helpful, try asking for him when you make your reservation. The rooms at this hotel are clean and simple, the bed I found to be especially comfortable, and the small TV and wardrobe area was suitable enough for a single traveller on a budget. Small walk-in bathroom (with separate shower) had plenty of hot water at all times. No breakfast included, but there is Freddy Tucans next door. But Tucans sells to the hotel’s customers and the rest of the PV population at the same price. The location of the posada was the highlight – such a great location for accessing the beach, restaurants, transport etc.

Is what it is

pinball29 / New York / 13 abr 2008

I just spent one night here while waiting to check into a nearby condo rental, which I had stayed in before. The staff were friendly and the common areas are nice, but quaint and basic. The rooftop pool and sundeck were a plus.

There are tons of options in the area in this class of hotel, included studio rentals w/ kitchens.
And yes, the Tucan`s next door must be great because there was a line to get in every time I passed it.

A taste of real Mexico

clipper58 / Steinbach, Manitoba / 11 ene 2007

We loved the Posada de Roger! The staff is great, very helpful, warm and professional. It’s location is great, good restaurants and shopping nearby. We found it clean, quant, and in good repair. Sure, its not the Holiday Inn, but if you want the Holiday Inn go to the Holiday Inn.

Precioso oasis de flores en el centro de la ciudad concurrida

Petali13  / Calgary, Canadá / 12 ago 2006

Recomendado por una familia mexicana que se había alojado en el Roger hace unos años y no sabía qué esperar en 2006. Fue mi primera vez en México y mi novia y yo estábamos más que impresionados con el hotel precioso, con sus profusión de flores en cada rincón y rincones de sus tres plantas situadas alrededor de un patio. Las habitaciones eran básicas pero estaban muy limpias y los colchones eran muy cómodos. La piscina era genial y estaba muy bien cuidada. Para rematar, como colofón, podíamos bajar las escaleras del hotel para el restaurante al lado del almuerzo Fredy Fredy’s, para desayunar o era genial. La comida era excelente, con mucha variedad y barato. El personal es muy amable y servicial. La ubicación no podría haber sido mejor. Las tiendas y la playa, restaurantes y autobuses está al otro lado de la calle a cualquier destino.

FUENTE: Tripadvisor

Vallarta Online